All is not lost…

I received this in an e-mail from a co-worker.  It is a great example of true decency in our society and it needed to be shared.

“At the airport in Dallas heading home to Cincinnati, I was notified I got upgraded to first class. I was thrilled since the seats are much bigger (I am getting to be a BIG girl now) and more leg room. I was getting settled and I noticed a man in uniform heading back and I asked the flight attendant if I could offer him my seat and she said absolutely and she offered to go get him. I gathered up my stuff and she came back and told me he was touched that I wanted to do that for him but he told her that he would never let a lady give up a seat for him. The man sitting across from me said, well I am not a lady and I am going to go get him and let him take my seat. 5 minutes later I heard clapping from the back and saw the uniformed man sitting down across from me. He told me that was the nicest gesture ever and made his day. I told him we could never thank him enough for all he and others are doing for our Country, and at that moment, first class truly became FIRST class!”

I don’t know if I would have been thoughtful and generous enough to offer my seat.  Just when you think the world is going to heck in a hand basket……

 She also posted this on Facebook.  It’s another example of a simple gesture making a big difference for someone else.

“A woman came to me while I was shopping at Kroger to thank me for smiling at her.  She said that she has been shopping for over an hour not one person smiled at her.  What a sad state when someone thanks you for smiling at them.  She proceeded to tell me she lost her job today and truly needed someone to show some kindness….it just goes to show that there is no cost to smiling but it means $$ to someone!”

 

 

Leave a Reply

